THE HISTORY OF TANCK'S CORNER
Yarrambat, originally known as Tanck's Corner had a couple of gold rushes,
one before 1860 and the other after 1900. Not enough gold was found to create a thriving township. The town was therefore primarily established by Selectors.
One such Selector was Frederick Tanck. Tanck owned properties on the north site of Ironbark Road. The T-intersection where Ironbark Road meets Yan Yean Road was subsequently known as Tanck’s Corner.
The name of the town was officially changed to Yarrambat in 1929. While the reason for the name change is unknown, the word Yarrambat is Aboriginal, meaning "high hills" or "pleasant views". Something we get to experience and appreciate every day.